An official website of the United States government

June 22, 2021

Joint Statement on the Human Rights Situation in Nicaragua

Joint Statement on Nicaragua at the Human Rights Council

Presented by the Nicaragua Core Group
on behalf of 59 countries including the United States

Statement as delivered by the Delegation of Costa Rica

47th Session of the United Nations Human Rights Council

June 22, 2021

I make this intervention on behalf of 59 countries, the full list of which will be available on the extranet.

We share the High Commissioner’s concerns on Nicaragua, including persistent impunity for human rights violations since April 2018 and continued reports of arbitrary detentions. The Government must ensure the protection of human rights and bring to account those responsible.

We urge the Government to cease harassment of journalists and human rights defenders and to allow civil society organizations to operate in safe and enabling environments, without fear of reprisal.

We are troubled by the Government’s failure to implement meaningful electoral reforms by the Organization of American States’ May 2021 deadline, backed by this Council in March.

We are deeply concerned that recently enacted laws unduly restrict political participation, freedom of expression, peaceful assembly and association. The arbitrary dissolution of political parties and the criminal proceedings against multiple presidential contenders and dissidents are especially worrisome. We call for their immediate release.

These measures are likely to impede the holding of free and fair elections in Nicaragua this November.

We urge Nicaragua to engage with the international community, to avail itself of technical assistance, to allow international election observers, and to re-establish dialogue and renew trust in democracy.

Nicaraguans deserve free and fair elections through a transparent and credible process, and a peaceful solution to the country’s socio-political crisis.

Thank you.

  1. Albania,
  2. Australia,
  3. Austria,
  4. Belgium,
  5. Brazil,
  6. Bulgaria,
  7. Canada,
  8. Chile,
  9. Colombia,
  10. Costa Rica
  11. Croatia,
  12. Cyprus,
  13. Czechia,
  14. Denmark,
  15. Dominican Republic,
  16. Ecuador,
  17. El Salvador,
  18. Estonia,
  19. Finland,
  20. France,
  21. Georgia,
  22. Germany,
  23. Greece,
  24. Guatemala,
  25. Guyana,
  26. Haiti,
  27. Hungary,
  28. Iceland,
  29. Ireland,
  30. Italy,
  31. Japan,
  32. Latvia,
  33. Liechtenstein,
  34. Lithuania,
  35. Luxembourg,
  36. Malta,
  37. Marshall Islands,
  38. Monaco,
  39. Montenegro,
  40. Morocco
  41. Netherlands,
  42. New Zealand,
  43. North Macedonia,
  44. Norway,
  45. Panama,
  46. Palau,
  47. Paraguay,
  48. Peru,
  49. Poland,
  50. Portugal,
  51. Republic of Korea,
  52. Romania,
  53. Slovakia,
  54. Slovenia,
  55. Spain,
  56. Sweden,
  57. Switzerland,
  58. United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland,
  59. United States of America.